Still Life

A Series of Mental Snapshots

Bugs in the Wild, the Irony Edition

Posted by Steve on June 18, 2008

It has been a while since I wrote a post specifically about testing, and I ran into an opportunity that I couldn’t resist. I am attending a software test conference, CAST, that is in Toronto, in about a month. I am looking forward to this because there are some good speakers lined up, and I am attending a tutorial that is going to be done by Jerry Weinburg, who if you do not know, has written a whole host of books on various topics that relate in many different ways to testing.

Now where the testing part comes in is when I got an e-mail this morning stating that I have officially been signed up for CAST, and can go see what I am signed up for. I decide to click on the link to give the website a little look, and I was very glad I did, because it gave me, as you can seen in the screenshot below, a humourous dose of irony.

Yes, that is correct, there is a very large, noticeable and common mistake in the text, an apostrophe is accidentally displayed as: �

I did notify them of this error before putting up my post, just to give them a little heads up, but I did get a good laugh that there was a bug on a website for a software testing conference!

–Steve

Post Script:
If you have interest in the conference, you can check it out here: http://www.associationforsoftwaretesting.org/drupal/conference

2 Responses to “Bugs in the Wild, the Irony Edition”

  1. green2 said

    ooh that is ironic 🙂 another irony… you misspelled the name of Jerry Weinberg

  2. Steve said

    Good catch; and I’ll be nice this time and won’t just edit the original post to have the name spelled correctly = P.

Leave a Reply

 
